An international jury established to evaluate nominees for Baltic Assembly (BA) prizes gathered at the Latvian Parliament, the Saeima, on September 27, voting to award this year’s science prize to Maija Dambrova for her work in the field of energy metabolism and her contributions toward researching the mechanism of effectiveness of the metabolic agent Mildronate. The BA literature prize will go to the Lithuanian poet, writer, literary critic, playwright and translator Sigitas Parulskis for his novel “Darkness and Company” and for two collections of essays, “Wanting Something Tender Before Dying” and “The Fangs of My Conviction.

The BA arts prize will be awarded to director Kristijonas Vildžiūnas, who was nominated by Estonia for his film, “Seneca’s Day.” The joint production involved Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania and was the first picture of its kind.  The movie focuses on Vilnius in 1989 and, among other things, tells the story of the Baltic Way demonstration.

The monetary value of each Baltic Assembly prize is EUR 5,000. The awards ceremony will be held during the annual BA meeting in Rīga on October 27-28. The jury was composed of nine experts in the fields of literature, science and the arts from Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia.

Other nominees in each category:


Writer Guntis Berelis, Latvia, nominated for the novel “There was no Room for Words” (2015)
Poet, translator and editor Doris Kareva, Estonia, nominated for the poetry collection “Family Album” (2015)

The arts

Pianist Vestards Šimkus, Latvia, nominated for his remarkable performances in and outside of Latvia, including many prominent international festivals, and for his interpretation of opuses by Sergei Rachmaninov in the album “Vestard Shimkus: Rachmaninov”
Cellist and conductor David Geringas, Lithuania, nominated for excellence and ingenuity in concert and for promoting Baltic music locally and throughout the world


Gastroenterologist Limas Kupcinskas, Lithuania, nominated for scientific achievements and the strengthening of co-operation among Baltic researchers

The BA Prize was established in 1994 and has been awarded to well-known scientists, artists and cultural workers.  Last year the literature prize went to Māris Bērziņš for the novel “The Taste of Lead,” the arts prize was awarded to Lithuanian conductor Modestas Pitrėnas, and the science prize was received by Eva-Clarita Pettai and Vello Pettai from Estonia for the monograph “Transitional and Retrospective Justice in the Baltic States.”

The Baltic Assembly is an inter-parliamentary organisation established on November 8, 1991, by Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania. Each national parliament is represented by 12 to 20 members in the BA, which provides co-ordination and consultation to the national parliaments and governments of the Baltic States, as well as the Baltic Council of Ministers, in the form of resolutions, decisions, declarations and recommendations. It also has the right to request information from the aforementioned institutions about transfrontier issues that are high up on the Baltic Assembly’s agenda.

Source: Saeima Press Service
29.09.2016, Society, Innovation